The Live Scan unit assists the public with fingerprinting for criminal background checks required for employment, licensing, or securing a position that places them in a position of trust. Applicants needing Live Scan services must provide an acceptable primary form of photo identification. Those include a current and valid: California driver’s license, California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) identification card, or out-of-state driver’s license.
If the applicant is under the age of 16 and does not have an acceptable primary form of photo identification, a birth certificate must be provided as well as being accompanied by a parent or legal guardian in possession of an acceptable primary form of photo identification.
Please be advised that although the Department of Justice (DOJ) accepts alternate forms of identification, California state law requires individuals 18 years and older have a state issued driver’s license or identification card. Depending on your individual circumstances, although you may have documentation approved by DOJ, you could be turned away and instructed to return with documentation issued by DMV.
The application must also submit a “Request for Live Scan Service” form provided by the employing agency. The Live Scan operator will verify the information on the completed documentation. This information will be entered into the Live Scan machine and the applicant’s fingerprint images will be captured. The applicant’s biographical data and fingerprint images will immediately be electronically transmitted to the Department of Justice.
We do not provide Live Scan service forms. If the applicant does not have a form, we are able to provide them with fingerprint cards. However, these fingerprints will not be transmitted electronically. They will need to be mailed to the appropriate agency by the applicant or employing agency.
If the applicant is required to pay fees, the following forms of payment are accepted: Visa, Master Card, American Express, Discover, debit card with Visa/Master Card logo, money order, and cashier’s check. There is a $2.50 service fee per transaction for using a debit or credit card and the person whose name is on the card must be present with current and valid photo ID. No cash or personal checks accepted.FAQs